Catlike Anxiety

While I try to hide it, if you were to ask me to define one of my biggest flaws, I would openly admit that I am a worrier. What do I worry about, exactly? Just everything.

In the morning, when I wake up, the worrying begins. Am I going to be late for work? Do I have time for a quick cup of coffee? Do these shoes really match this skirt? Where are my keys? Have I got everything in my bag? Will there be traffic? How long will I be stuck in it? Maybe I shouldn’t have had that cup of coffee…

And it doesn’t get much better as the day goes on. From one task to the next, I try in vain to stop fretting over the details. But details are important! What if I miss something vital in this document? And what if I email the file to the wrong person? It’s happened before; it can happen again…

When I get home (Will I ever get home in this traffic?), I try to worry less. But what are we having for dinner? Did I buy all of the ingredients I need? Why don’t I have any sour cream?! How could I forget that I used all of the sour cream…? What am I going to make for dinner tomorrow? Sometimes, I succeed. Other times, not so much.

Despite the grand scale of my own worrisome nature, I’m relieved to say that at least I’m not the most anxious creature in my home. You might think that I’m bad, but my cat is next level. I mean, Misty is completely irrational.

For starters, she feels the need to remind me to feed her every morning (sometimes, before I am even awake, I might add). What does she think I’m going to do? Starve her to death? How many times has that happened? Exactly zero. And when it’s supper time, she gets the same silly notion that food won’t happen unless she’s there to cry and yowl about it. Doesn’t she know that I’ll take care of her?

When my hubby and I return home from wherever we’ve been, we are met with a similarly strange display. More often than not, Misty will run to the door to greet us, turning circles and meowing as though she thought we might never return. Even if she thinks she’s home by herself, she will sometimes walk through empty rooms and halls, crying out, forever alone. Again, these worries are unfounded. We would never abandon her.

Perhaps the best (or worst) example of her anxious nature is when the dreaded cat carrier comes into play. She views it as a device of torture, or maybe a prison, but that’s just ridiculous. Everyone knows that the cat carrier is meant to keep her safe. She may have spent a three hour car ride meowing constantly (and even hissing a few times – a thing she has done so rarely, I can count the instances on one hand) and bemoaning her accommodations, but without that carrier, I could have never brought her to Harrisburg to join our family (and meet her all-time favorite person, but that’s another story). Even when we took her to get her vaccinations updated, she spent the better part of an hour, crying herself hoarse inside the carrier. We all go though rough times, cat, but can’t you see that these things were for your own good? Didn’t you trust our plan? Couldn’t you see that we had your back?

Okay, okay, I’ll admit it. When you think about it, Misty has the same worries that a lot of us do. But who can we turn to when we’re anxious about things?

Our Daily Needs

Luke 12:22-24, 29-31

22 Then He said to His disciples, “Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; nor about the body, what you will put on. 23 Life is more than food, and the body is more than clothing. 24 Consider the ravens, for they neither sow nor reap, which have neither storehouse nor barn; and God feeds them. Of how much more value are you than the birds?
29 “And do not seek what you should eat or what you should drink, nor have an anxious mind. 30 For all these things the nations of the world seek after, and your Father knows that you need these things. 31 But seek the kingdom of God, and all these things[c] shall be added to you. (NKJV)

Our Heavenly Father loves us. He provides for us and takes care of us in a thousand ways every day, whether we realize it or not. In Luke 12, Jesus told his disciples about how much God values each and every one of us. If God doesn’t want us to sweat the small stuff, He must have bigger plans for our hearts and minds than we can fathom. Instead of obsessing and worrying about coffee, traffic, and cat food, we should try trusting our loving Creator so that we can focus more on His will for our lives.

Going It Alone

Psalm 23:4

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me (KJV)

How often do we feel like we are facing life’s struggles alone? We cry out when the shadows grow dark, and sometimes we worry that no one hears us. But God is always there. He walks with us, and will never forsake us, even when life’s problems are too big for us to bear. Our God is bigger than our worries; we don’t need to fear.

The Big Picture

Matthew 6:34

34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. (NKJV)

It’s easy to get caught up, worrying about the future, and that worry can easily be taken to unhealthy extremes. Luckily, God has a plan, and He’s got our backs. Surrendering to God’s will isn’t always easy. We may try to fight it, run from it, or even (hisss) complain about it, but once we allow God to take the lead, what is there to worry about?

 

When I say my cat is being silly for worrying, it’s easy to see how I’m not much better. But, just like she has two loving humans to take care of her, we’ve got a loving God to take care of us. And that’s a really comforting thought.

2 Replies to “Catlike Anxiety”

Leave a Reply

